Upcoming GBG Educational Opportunity

Website of the Month

This website contains subcontracting opportunities available to small businesses. Included are opportunities in Iraq as well as ARRA Prime Contracts Solicitations. Don't miss the directory of large prime contractors, Subcontracting Opportunities Directory, a valuable tool as you review subcontracting opportunities.

Did you know?

There are three main categories of federal purchases:

  1. Full and Open Competition: Procurement open for bid from all allowable sources.
  2. Set-asides: Purchases "set aside" or reserved for either small business, HUBZone, Service Disabled Veteran owned or 8(a) competition only.
  3. Sole-source: Negotiations with one firm.

Myth Busting B2B e-Invoicing
Presenter: Eric Self, Vice President - Program Management, OB10

Many government agencies that do not have their own e-Invoicing system are recommending OB10 for their vendors. Be the first to learn about this opportunity for your company.

Have you been asked by an important customer to join an e-Invoicing network? If you have Fortune 1000 customers, you certainly will soon. In fact, according to Paystream Advisors, 78% of accounts payable organizations in large- and medium-sized companies cite e-Invoicing as their top automation goal in 2009. In response to this demand, several large e-Invoicing networks, such as OB10, are gaining traction by enabling organizations to receive invoices from suppliers without having to agree to complex EDI specifications.

What does this mean for you? How can you use this change to your advantage? This session will set the record straight by debunking some common myths around the move to e-Invoicing. After the session, you will better understand the impact of these initiatives on your organization and how to leverage these programs to your company's advantage. Don't miss this informative session from one of the experts in the e-Invoicing industry.

Date: Monday, July 27, 2009
Time: 3:00 – 4:00pm EST
Cost: $39.95 for GBG members;
$49.95 for non-GBG members
*per phone line

To register for the Myth Busting B2B e-Invoicing teleconference, click here.

Small Business Administration Certifications

Does your business qualify as a small business? Not sure? The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) defines a small business as one that is independently owned and operated, organized for profit and not dominant in its field. Depending on the industry, size standard eligibility is based on the average number of employees for the preceding 12 months or on sales volume averaged over a three-year period. Certification is a way to officially record your business ownership status with the SBA. An application must be filed and approved before a business can be considered certified. Four types of certification are available:

8(a) Business Development: This SBA program helps small, disadvantaged businesses compete in the U.S. economy and gain access to the federal procurement market. Minority-owned firms that qualify for this program automatically receive SDB certification.

Small Disadvantaged Business (SDB): An SBA program that provides minority- and woman-owned firms with a competitive advantage in federal procurements. Certification requirements are less stringent than those for the 8(a) program, but there are also fewer benefits.

HUBZone Empowerment Contracting: This SBA program allows small firms located in many urban or rural areas to qualify for sole-source and other types of federal contract benefits. HUBZone stands for "historically underutilized business zone," which are areas that have been targeted to enhance economic vitality.

Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business Concern (SDVO SBC): A self-certifying program that provides service-connected veteran-owned businesses with set-aside opportunities and contracting preference for certain types of federal procurement.

To find more information about SBA certifications, please visit: www.sba.gov.

2010 Fiscal Year is Quickly Approaching; Know Your Solicitations

In order to be awarded a federal contract for the 2010 fiscal year, the contracting officer must determine that your offer/bid is responsive and responsible. If your company's bid is delivered late, it will not be considered and will be thrown out. The government agency will make sure your business has the capacity to perform the bid within the time frame you stated. The agency will also review your financial ability as payments are normally made after services or items are received. All contracts must be awarded for what the government determines to be a fair and reasonable price. Even though you might be the lowest bidder, the government is never obligated to award a contract if they determine the price is not reasonable. When the agency determines that a small business bidder is not responsible, they must forward their findings to the SBA for review. Remember that purchases under $3,000 are called micro-purchases, purchases under $100,000 are called simplified acquisitions and those over $100,000 are bids and proposals. The Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) governs federal procurements. You can find procurement law under the following parts:

Subpart 8.4 – Federal Supply Schedules
Part 13 – Simplified Acquisitions
Part 14 – Sealed Bidding
Part 15 – Contracting by Negotiation
Part 19 – Small Business Programs

Federal Acquisition Regulations (FAR): www.arnet.gov/far

Help is Out There for You
Procurement Technical Assistance Centers (PTACs): www.sellingtothegovernment.net
Small Business Development Centers: www.sba.gov/sdbc

Upcoming September Issue

Review of the OB10 teleconference, review of Bill Blumberg's new guide for selling and understanding the government procurement system, and more.

National Association
of Credit Management

8840 Columbia 100 Pkwy.
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: 410-740-5560
Fax: 410-740-5574

Let's Get Social!

NACM's Preferred
Software Providers

Discover More About NACM

Credit Congress
NACM's Annual Conference

Our History
Over 100 Years of History